CEDAW Committee Elections 2014

1983-CEDAW-logo18th Meeting of States parties (New York, 26 June 2014): Election of twelve members of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women to replace those whose terms are due to expire on 31 December 2014.

The Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) is composed of 23 experts of high moral standing and competence in the field covered by the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women. Nominations for membership of the Committee can be made by States parties to the Convention, in accordance with article 17 of the Convention. Article 17 (1) states that “the experts shall be elected by State parties from among their nationals and shall serve in their personal capacity, consideration being given to equitable geographical distribution and to the representation of the different forms of civilization as well as the principal legal systems”. In accordance with article 17 (5), the members of the Committee shall be elected for a term of four years. The eighteenth meeting of States parties will take place in New York on 26 June 2014 with the aim of electing twelve members of the Committee to replace those members whose term of office will expire on 31 December 2014. States parties to the Convention are invited to nominate their candidates by 7 March 2014. The nominations and biographical data form (Annex III) should be submitted to the CEDAW Secretariat, Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, United Nations Office at Geneva, CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland and in electronic version (Word format) to jschneider@ohchr.org, copy to idelpilarsandoval@ohchr.org. For the text of the Convention and the current status of ratification, including reservations and declarations, please refer to the United Nations Treaties Collection on the Internet at http://treaties.un.org.

Name of Candidate , Nationality
Ms. Feride ACAR Turkey – renomination
Ms. Gladys ACOSTA VARGAS, E-S Peru -renomination
Ms. Sawsan AL-BARRAK Iraq
Ms. Bahiya ALJISHI Bahrain
Ms. Magalys AROCHA DOMINGUEZ, E-S Cuba -renomination
Ms. Naéla GABR Egypt -renomination
Ms. Ruth HALPERIN-KADDARI Israel -renomination
Ms. Yoko HAYASHI Japan -renomination
Ms. Lilian HOFMEISTER Austria
Ms. Ismat JAHAN Bangladesh -renomination
Ms. Lia NADARAIA Georgia
Ms. Sochetra NHEAN Cambodia
Ms. Pramila PATTEN Mauritius -renomination
Ms. Sapana PRADHAN-MALLA [Withdrawn] Nepal
Ms. Patricia SCHULZ, E-F Switzerland -renomination
Ms. Genoveva TISHEVA Bulgaria
Ms. Ana TRIŠIC-BABIC Bosnia and Herzegovina